Release date: 10 October 2010
Catalogue number: CM 1011 | Format: CD | Box: digipack
Album type: studio | Genre: Ethnic/World Music
Publisher: CM Records
Total time: 
EAN: 5904259358118



Mosaic reaches for the oldest Polish traditional songs, telling their stories in the language of music, brimming with oriental accents. They create landscapes with the sounds of ancient and ethnic instruments, in a remarkable marriage of Slavic wilderness and melancholy, oriental mystery, sounds of nature, urban chaos, the old world order and contemporary eclecticism.

1. Druhny 4:14
2. Modre oczka idźcie spać 4:28
3. Hej z góry 5:57
4. Intro na 5 instrumentach 1:25
5. Afroberek 4:52
6. Bez listeczków 7:20
7. Oto Marysiu 5:32
8. Róży kwiat 5:24
9. U mej mamy 3:03
10. Uśnijże 4:33
11. Prel-ud-ium 0:58
12. Siodłaj konia 6:15


Jolanta Kossakowska: medieval fiddles, vocal; Zofia Kolbe-Wojdyr: gaita gallega, recorders, percussion instruments, tampura, vocal; Wojciech Lubertowicz: frame drums, darbuka, tombak, udu; Mateusz Szemraj: oud, Polish dulcimer, mandola;Sebastian Wielądek: hurdy gurdy, ney, flutes, duduk, Swedish bagpipe, foot bass. Guests: Maciej Cierliński: hurdy gurdy (1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 12); Weronika Grozdew-Kołacińska: vocal (6); Bart Pałyga: folk bass (5)


About the group:

MOSAIC was founded in 2006 and draws on the experience of its members in early, classical and folk music. They find inspiration in their travels and exploration of libraries. Their instruments are exact copies of early instruments or traditional instruments still used by folk musicians in various regions of the world. MOSAIC has performed at various festivals of early and folk music. In 2008 they won the third prize and the Golden Fiddle award for Jolanta Kossakowska at the eleventh Folk Festival of the Polish Radio NEW TRADITION. Afterwards they won the first award at the 18th Festival Mikołajki Folkowe in Lublin. In 2009 the group performed at Warsaw Cross Culture Festival with Al Andaluz Project.